Resisting Empire: An Online Study

Poverty, Empire and the Book of Revelation in the Time of Covid19

This is a free 6-week online course looking at the Book of Revelation from a Liberation Theology perspective, and using the book, “Resisting Empire: The Book of Revelation as Resistance” as the backdrop (see purchasing info below).

In this course you will learn:

  • How our own biases, experiences, and interacts with our reading of the biblical texts
  • Various strategies for reading the bible from a liberatory framework
  • How to understand and read the bible in an anti-poverty lens
  • What the “religion of empire” is and how it functions in the world
  • Social context and background to the book of Revelation
  • Ways of “resisting the empire” that the first witnesses of Revelation would have practiced
  • What it means to resist the “religion of empire” in our own day

Click Here for Course Materials for Each Session

Click here to purchase “Resisting Empire: The Book of Revelation as Resistance.”


Outline and Dates for the Course (All times will be – 1pm PST/4pm EST/9pm UK)

  • Wednesday, April 29 – Session 1: Reading the Bible With Empathy and for Liberation
  • Wednesday, May 6 – Session 2: The Religion of Empire, The Religion of Creation
  • Wednesday, May 13 – Session 3: The Scapegoat Mechanism
  • Wednesday, May 20 – Session 4: Liturgies of Empire, Liturgies of Resistance
  • Wednesday, May 27 –Session 5: The Beastly Economics of Empire
  • Wednesday, June 3 – Session 6: The Multitude and the Prophetic Remix

Purchase “Resisting Empire: The Book of Revelation as Resistance” Below

%d bloggers like this: